The success of NRP 63 depends on a number of actors. The management of NRP 63 is ensured by a team comprising scientific experts, and delegates, representatives and observers from different bodies.

​The steering committee is responsible for the strategic management and scientific quality of the programme, starting with the selection of the research projects to the synthesis of the research results.

The Programme Manager and the President of the steering committee are responsible for the operational management of the programme.

The Head of knowledge transfer is responsible for the communication of the research results to the target audiences.

Representatives of relevant federal offices accompany the steering committee and keep the administration informed of the progress of the programme.

Division Programmes of the national research council of the SNSF is the ultimate supervisory authority for the NRP. The Delegate of the research council acts as a link between the research council and the steering committee.

Steering Committee Members

  • Prof. Bernard Thorens, Professor of Physiology, Centre for Integrative Genomics, Faculty of Biology and Medicine, University of Lausanne, CH (President)
  • Prof. Olivier Guillod, Professor of Health Law, Director of the Health Law Institute, Faculty of Law, University of Neuchâtel, CH
  • Prof. Sheila MacNeil, Professor of Tissue Engineering, Head of the Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering Group, The Kroto Research Institute, University of Sheffield, UK
  • Prof. Elizabeth J. Robertson, Professor of Developmental Biology and Principal Research Fellow at the Wellcome Trust, Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, University of Oxford, UK
  • Prof. em. Michael R. Rosen, Pfeiffer Professor of Pharmacology and Paediatrics, Director of the Centre for Molecular Therapeutics, Department of Pharmacology, Columbia University-ty, New York, USA
  • Prof. em. Davor Solter, Senior Principal Investigator at the Institute of Medical Biology and Professor at the Duke-National University of Singapore Graduate Medical School, Singapore

Delegate of Division IV of the National Research Council

  • Prof. Isabel Roditi, Institute of Cell Biology, University of Berne, Berne (to April 2011)
  • Prof. Isabelle Mansuy, Brain Research Institute, University of Zurich (from April 2011)

Representative of the Confederation

  • Margreet Duetz Schmucki, PhD, Head of Sections Services, Human Research and Ethics, Federal Office of Public Health FOPH, Berne (to December 2010)
  • Brigitte Meier, MSc, Service Biomedicine, Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH), Berne (from February 2011)

Programme Manager

  • Marjory Hunt, PhD, Swiss National Science Foundation, Berne

Head of Knowledge Transfer

  • Adrian Heuss, MSc, Advocay AG, Basel

Further information on this content